2018

Happy New Year!

It’s bit of a belated happy new year post, as I’ve had no signal and been busy working on the farm, but this is a bit of an update of what’s to come for 2018.

2017 was great to me, travel wise. I managed to achieve something I’ve been wanting to do for years, visit Australia. I started my working holiday visa in May and 9 months in, I’m currently doing my farm work to get my second year visa. I started in Sydney, made my way up the East Coast to Brisbane, stopping off at places along the way, such as Byron Bay, Surfers Paradise etc. I then moved across to Perth, well 4 hours south of Perth, to start my farm work.

In 2017, I also spent a week in Hong Kong. The culture is definitely an eye opening one, and it’s one I can’t wait to explore in more depth with some travels in China.

So 2018. I’m finishing my farm work around March time. From there, I’m going back to the East Coast, completing my journey up the East Coast to Cairns. This is going to include Fraser Island, Whitsundays, Magnetic Island and finishing up in Cairns and seeing the beautiful Great Barrier Reef. This will then bring my first year Australian working holiday visa to an end.

From Cairns, I’m flying to Bali for a few weeks in May. This is a county I can’t wait to explore. After researching it many times, it’s been on my bucket list for a while. I also managed to get flights for $109 from Cairns to Bali, so for someone on a backpackers budget, I’m loving the idea already! After Bali, I’m going back home for a few weeks, as by that point it will have been over a year since being at home.

All of these plans will complete almost half of 2018. My second half of 2018 is still undecided. I’d like to come back this way and explore New Zealand, then go on to do my second year visa in Australia. But New Zealand is quite expensive, so would require me working there. It’s supposedly not as easy to get a job there, and the wages don’t match how expensive it is to live in New Zealand. So it’s something I’m still planning.

It’s safe to say 2018 is going to be a year of travel, and can’t wait to complete my farm work so I can go back to exploring. But for now, it’s time to save up for the next part of the adventure…

Leave a comment